If you want to publish a news item or a social media announcement please read our instructions on Posting of News and Social Media Announcements.

iConference 2018 Announces Award Finalists


The iConference has announced its slate of award finalists for 2018. Winners will be announced during iConference 2018, which takes place March 25 – 28, 2018, in Sheffield, UK. Click here to view the complete list of finalists and conference presentation times.

iConference 2018 saw a record number of papers submission, most likely motivated by the conference’s new publishing arrangement with Springer. As a result, this year’s awards were especially competitive.

Lee Dirks Award
The Lee Dirks Award for Best Paper is the conference’s most prestigious award, with a $5,000 prize going to the winning paper courtesy of Microsoft Research. The award honors the memory of Lee Dirks, a longtime friend and supporter of the iConference.

The finalists:

Most Interesting Preliminary Results Paper
This award goes to the author(s) of the most intriguing paper in the early work/preliminary results category.

The finalists:

Best Poster Award
The best poster award is determined in a two-phase process: finalists are selected based on quality of the submitted abstract, and the overall winner is chosen based on the resulting presentation at the iConference.

The finalists:

More about iConference 2018
An annual presentation of the iSchools organization since 2005, the iConference brings together scholars and researchers from around the world to examine critical information issues in contemporary society. The 2018 theme is Transforming Digital Worlds. iConference 2018 is co-organized by University of Sheffield’s Information School and the iSchool at Northumbria, and is presented by iSchools Inc.

iConference 2018 will begin on Sunday, March 25, with ten specially selected workshops available free-of-charge to all paid participants. Over the ensuing days, participants have the opportunity take in more than 80 peer-reviewed papers focused on completed research and shorter papers focused on early work/preliminary results. Numerous interactive sessions and special panels are also planned. As always, the conference will also feature two extended poster sessions showcasing the work of current and future thought-leaders. This year’s keynote speakers are Dr. Lynn Silipigni Connaway of OCLC Research, Dr. Susan Dumais of Microsoft Research, and Professor Luciano Floridi of the Univeristy of Oxford and the Alan Turing Institute.

Important Links
Conference Home Page:
Award Finalists:
Program Schedule: